Marriage License Info


Requirements for a marriage license to be issued in Platte County.

Effective May 15th, 2023, either applicant that has been married previously, we require a divorce decree, court order or death certificate to show the date of that event.

Effective January 3, 2022:

  1. The Fee for a Marriage License is $25.00. Applicants may prepay for a certified copy for an additional $9.00. The certified copy is required for the Bride to change her name on her driver's license and for social security records to be changed.
  2. One form of identification is required-such as a photo ID, driver's license or passport.
    • Photo ID
      A photo ID or driver's license including CDL's, learners permits and provisional operators license which contains the name and date of birth along with recognizable photograph. This will work as long as the license is not mutilated or altered and that signatures match.
    • Passports
      A U.S. passport, which contains your name, date of birth and recognizable photograph.
      A foreign passport containing name, date of birth, recognizable photograph.
    • Note: Statute 42-104 states "Each party shall present satisfactory documentary proof and shall swear or affirm to the application giving: (1) Full name of each applicant and residents: and (2) the place, date and year of birth of each." It is customary in this office to require a photo ID as "satisfactory documentary proof" of identity. Driver's licenses, state id's, & passports.  A birth certificate by itself cannot positively establish identity.
  3. Social security numbers of Bride and Groom, if no Social Security number then must sign affidavit in front of county clerk or deputy county clerk.
  4. Applicants must supply the names of their parents (including mother's maiden name), and their parent's birthplace (City and State or foreign country).
  5. If either Applicant is not of legal age (19), a notarized consent form must be signed by the Applicant's father, mother, legal guardian or custodian, giving consent to the marriage of the minor. If the individual giving consent is a legal guardian or custodian, appropriate paperwork must be presented showing this relationship to the Minor. If either applicant is under 17 years of age, a license cannot be issued in the State of Nebraska.
  6. The Marriage License is good for one year from the date of issuance anywhere in Nebraska. Your Marriage license must be obtained in the State in which you will be married. However, a license issued in one county in Nebraska can be used in any county in Nebraska.
  7. There is no waiting period.
  8. To be married by the County Court Magistrate or County Judge you may call the County Court (402-563-4905) to schedule an appointment.
  9. All Marriage Licenses obtained in Nebraska are public record.
  10. The above link will allow you to download a copy of the marriage license application worksheet. 
  11. The application must be filled out completely and submitted in person to the Platte County Clerk's Office at:
    2610 14th Street, Columbus, Nebraska 68601
  12. Both parties must be present at the time of application.
  13. We do not issue Marriage Licenses after 4:00 pm.

To receive a copy or a certified copy of a Platte County Marriage License you will need the following information:

  • $.50 for a copy
  • $9.00 for a certified copy
  • Name of groom and bride (including maiden name)
  • Date of marriage
  • Must be issued from Platte County to receive a copy
  • We do not accept Debit or Credit Cards

Mail Cash, Check or Money Order to:

Platte County Clerk
2610 14th Street
Columbus NE 68601


The fee for a marriage license is $25.00.
A Certified Copy of a Marriage Record is $9.00.

We do not accept Debit or Credit Cards.

If you have any questions, contact us by:

Phone: (402)563-4904
Fax: (402)564-4164