Election Commission

Election Commissioner

Eryn Roberts


8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Monday - Friday


We have moved! Our office is now located in the North Courthouse- 1464 26th Avenue





Mailing Address

1464 26th Avenue, Suite #300
Columbus, NE 68601


Voter Registrations English

Voter Registrations Spanish

Military and Overseas Voting

Polling Places

Voter Registration Breakdown

Poll-Workers Information

Political Parties Chairperson

Local Election Results

SOS Resources

SOS Online Voter Registration


Voter Forms

Voting Precincts

Columbus Map

County Map

History Links

History of the Election Office

History of the County Attorney

Platte County History Facts

Special Issues and Elections

GIS Map Available

gWorks GIS Map

Use the above link, then click on the Election Commissioner Tab at the top. You can then put in your address to see all the different items that will be on your ballot.

Examples include: School Districts, City, County Supervisor, Public Power District, Natural Resource District, Townships, ESU's and Voting Precincts where you vote.

We have moved! Our office is now located in the North Courthouse
1464 26th Avenue.

Official Ballot Drop box located at the end of the North Courthouse drive-through. https://sos.nebraska.gov/elections/nebraska-drop-box-locator 

Mission Statement: 

To conduct elections fairly, impartially and legally…..and to maintain the Voter Registration and Election Records for Present and Future Use. 

Upcoming Elections

Nebraska Voter Information Lookup: VoterCheck

Voter ID Information 

Voter Registration Questions and Answers

Do I have to be registered to vote?

Yes, voter registration is required to vote in Platte County.

The only exception is at the Presidential Election for a person who has recently moved to Platte County after the close of Voter Registration deadline from another state or county or moved to another state after that state’s registration deadline. You may vote a President and Vice President Ballot only by contacting the Platte County Election Commissioner.

Who may register to vote in Platte County?

  • Must be a United States Citizen
  • Must be 18 years old
  • If you are 17 years old and will be 18 by the first Tuesday following the first Monday in November of the General Election Year.
  • Are a resident of Platte County, Nebraska.  If you move to another county in Nebraska you will have to reregister in that county.
  • Not been convicted of a felony, in Nebraska, or another state or in a federal court, unless your civil rights have been restored or it has been two years after the sentence is completed, including any parole term.
  • Have not been found to be mentally incompetent by a court.

How may I register to vote?

You may register at the Platte County Election Commissioner’s Office from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Monday through Friday. Except any County Holidays.

You can call the office and request a from sent out to you.

Click on the Voter Registration Links on this page, which will take you to the Nebraska State website. Where you would go to the Election Box and click on NEReg2Vote. This link is available 24 hours a day 7 days a week by a computer or a mobile device.

You can do it at the DMV when you are applying, renewing or ordering a duplicate driver’s license.

You can also register through the state Department of Health and Human Services and State Department of Education at the time of application, review or change of address in connection with public programs.

If you registering for the first time in Nebraska by mail, please provide a copy of a current and valid photo ID, or a copy of a utility bill, bank statement, government document which is dated within 60 days immediately prior to the date of presentation showing the same name and residence address provided on the voter registration application.

Do I have to be a resident for a certain time period?

No, you may register to vote the same day you become a Platte County Resident.

When do I have to re-register in Platte County? 

Anytime you change your name, any address changes in Platte County, or changing your political party affiliation. Very Important to do saves time at the Polls on Election day and voting by Provisional Voting if you keep your Voter Registration up to date.

What is the registration deadline?

  • Mail-in registrations must be postmarked on or before the third Friday before an Election.
  • In office registration at the Platte County Election Office will be the second Friday before an Election and office hours will be extended to 6:00 p.m.

May a student register and vote from a school address?

Yes, you may decide to register and vote from either your school or home address. If you vote from your home address, contact Platte County Election Commissioner’s office and ask to have a voter registration form and an absentee ballot sent to you.

Political Party Information

The following political parties are recognized under Nebraska law are:

  • Republican
  • Democratic
  • Libertarian
  • NonPartisan
  • Legal Marijuana NOW

Local Party Chairperson

Republican:  Jason Beiermann 402-910-2398

Democratic: Thomas E. Havelka 402-276-6601

Libertarian:  Joshua W. Bates 402-942-4740

Legal Marijuana NOW: Mark Elworth Jr. 402-812-1600

Early Voting Ballot Information:

The state will begin distributing Early Voting (Absentee) on a daily  basis after April 4. Local requests for Early Voter Application information can be directed to the Secretary of State email at sos.elect@nebraska.gov or their main line 402-471-2555 to subscribe to this service.

Who can apply for an early voting ballot?

Anyone who is a Registered Voter

Can a person request to vote Early and register to vote by mail at the same time?

Yes, as long as this is done by the registration deadline of the 3rd Friday preceding the election.

How do I apply and vote and Early Ballot?

You can click on the Early Voting Link on the Platte County Election Commissioners web page, or the NE Secretary of State webpage. Print out the form and return it to the Election Commissioners office by mail, in person, or by email at elections@plattene.us , there is a link for the Military and Overseas Voting on our webpage as well.

You may come into the Platte County Election Commissioner’s Office and fill out an Early Ballot Application to vote in office.

NO Early Ballots are allowed to be voted at the Election Office on Election Day. A Voter must go to the polls to vote, or an agent may pick up an early ballot until 7:00 p.m. and returned the voted ballot back to the Election Office by the close of the polls at 8:00 p.m. on Election Day. Agents are allowed to take 2 ballots out.

Early Voting Ballot Deadlines:

The Election Commissioner’s Office may accept applications 120 days before an Election.

Voters may vote an Early Ballot in the Election Commissioner’s Office 30 days prior to a Statewide Election and 15 days before a Special Election.

Last Day to receive an Early Ballot Request to be mailed out to a specific address by the Election Office is two Friday’s before the Election. (NE State Statue 32-941)

All Early Ballots must be received by the Platte County Election Commissioner’s Office by 8:00 p.m. on Election Day.